GreenYes Archives

[GreenYes Home] - [Thread Index] - [Date Index]
[Date Prev] - [Date Next] - [Thread Prev] - [Thread Next]


[greenyes] Fwd: [GAIA]Delaware needs help (again...)



From: Alan Muller <amuller@no.address>
Date: Thu, 19 Feb 2004 10:28:44 -0500

Several years ago, as some of you know, we had a big success in passing
laws that prevent the building of garbage incinerators. Now, as in many
places, the forces of darkness are on the march, trying to roll back the
laws and bring us burners. This subject is being investigated by a (very
biased and incompetent) committee of our state legislature called the Joint
Sunset Committee.

I wonder if we could trouble you to send these folks some information by
email such as

(1) How undesirable incinerators are and why;

(2) How disappointing it would be if Delaware stopped setting a good
example by prohibiting incinerators;

(3) How there is strong opposition to incineration all over the world
(they are always hearing that incinerators are loved in Europe....);

(4) How the answer is aggressive source reduction and recycling ("Zero
waste," but I don't know how well the term itself succeeds).....

The members of the committee and their emails are:

Rep. Stephanie Ulbrich, saulbrich@no.address
Rep. Deborah Hudson, Deborah.Hudson@no.address
Rep. Robert Valihura, valihura@no.address
Rep. Peter Schwartzkopf, Peter.Schwartzkopf@no.address
Rep. John Viola, 832.2900, jviola@no.address
Sen. David McBride, Vice-Chair, dmcbride@no.address
Sen. Karen Peterson, Karen.Peterson@no.address
Sen. David Sokola, dsokola@no.address
Sen. Colin Bonini, senatorcolin@no.address
Sen. Charles Copeland, charles.copeland@no.address

The staff person is: Lisa.Schieffert@no.address

And please send copies to me at amuller@no.address

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Alan

Alan Muller, Executive Director
Green Delaware
Box 69
Port Penn, DE 19731 USA
(302)834-3466
fax (302)836-3005
greendel@no.address
www.greendel.org
--

_______________________________________________
Gaia-members mailing list
Gaia-members@no.address
http://lists.essential.org/mailman/listinfo/gaia-members

Gary Liss
916-652-7850
Fax: 916-652-0485





[GreenYes Home] - [Date Index] - [Thread Index]
[Date Prev] - [Date Next] - [Thread Prev] - [Thread Next]