GreenYes Archives
[GreenYes Home] - [Thread Index] - [Date Index]
[Date Prev] - [Date Next] - [Thread Prev] - [Thread Next]

[GreenYes] Very Important
Hi,

   I need everyone's help as soon as possible.  Before I tell you what I need for people to do I will explain the situation.
    My name is Ben Newton and I am a student senator at Ole Miss.  I recently co-sponsored an environmental bill along with another student senator named Robyn Hagan.  The bill created a position within the Associated Student Body called Director of Environmental Policy and Awareness and it also created a committee to assist this person.  The bill had the full support of our County Recycling Coordinator.
     The bill passed the student senate unanimously but was vetoed by our student body president.  Unfortunately, our student body president did not see the need for successful recycling and environmental programs to be implemented on our campus.
      This is quite ashame but I am not giving up.   I am currently trying to over-ride the veto.  However, this is a very hard thing to do.  I need 2/3 vote of our entire senate in order to reverse the student body president's decision.
       If this decision is not reversed then there will be no environmental awareness or recycling programs on this campus.  Therefore, I really need everyone's help.  I need your  help as soon as possible because our next senate meeting is this coming Tuesday (April 10th).
     Here is what I want for everyone to do.  ----- I am going to enclose the e-mail address of every student senator at Ole Miss.  Please e-mail as many of them as you can between now and Tuesday.  Please simply ask them to over-ride the veto and support the environmental legislation.  You can include information about why recycling and environmental awareness is important----even to college students.
      Well, thanks for the help.  I really appreciate any e-mails that people send.  I know that it would be hard to e-mail everyone --- so however many you can send is fine.   Thanks again and here are the names and e-mails:

Jay Desai        jdesai24@hotmail.com

Jim Jacobs       jjammin98@aol.com

Carter Payne     cap307@aol.com

Tyndal Brickey    tabricke@olemiss.edu

Will Pieschel      wpieschel@hotmail.com

Jennifer Owens      jenn-p-o@hotmail.com

Scott Pritchett       dspritch@olemiss.edu

Ryan Dowler        rcdowler@hotmail.com

Laura Shirley        leshirle@aol.com

Laura Piazza      laurap2468@aol.com

Matt McKenzie    msmckenz@olemiss.edu

Brian Starling       starlingbrian@hotmail.com

Harrison Bibb       hmbibb@olemiss.edu

Corey Palmer       cpalmer@olemiss.edu

Ryan Pratt          rlpratt15@aol.com

Jessica Banahan   jessicabanahan@hotmail.com

Andrew White     aewhite@hotmail.com

Ryan Allen         nglosd@aol.com

Sumeka Thomas   brenal18@hotmail.com

Clifton Mosteller   cli217@aol.com

Louis Hengen      wlhengen@aol.com

Anne Morgan Brookfield     ambrookf@olemiss.edu

Cara-Ann Sumners   csumners@olemiss.edu

Matt Grenfell    mhgreenfe@olemiss.edu

Stephen O'Neal     stephenoneal@hotmail.com

Denise Williams       pdw4644@yahoo.com

Steven King     bond2727@aol.com

Mary Linley Swaney   bisous634@hotmail.com

Foster Knowles   fknowles@olemiss.edu

Carla Crosby  cncrosby@olemiss.edu

Haydn Roberts   robmed49@hotmail.com

Tessa Hughes   tthughes@olemiss.edu

Elizabeth Holcombe   ejholcom@olemiss.edu

Melinda Trotter   mltrotte@olemiss.edu

Brannon Kahlstorf     rbkahlst@olemiss.edu

Drew Snyder    dlsnyder@olemiss.edu

Lindsay Sanders  lssander@olemiss.edu

Patrick Guild   ptguild@olemiss.edu

Lale Ozyurt  lgozyurt@olemiss.edu

Alan Bean    asbean@olemiss.edu

Paxton Little   wplittle@olemiss.edu

Kara DeRoche   maskara7@aol.com

Josh Marino  jbmarino7697@yahoo.com

Nichole Babbit nebabbit@olemiss.edu

Kelly Barry   kel_barry@hotmail.com

Ross Coley   robcoley80@hotmail.com

Nick Bain    nrbain@olemiss.edu

Andrew Buckley   ambuckle@olemiss.edu

Johnathan Werne    jrwerne@olemiss.edu
 


[GreenYes Home] - [Date Index] - [Thread Index]
[Date Prev] - [Date Next] - [Thread Prev] - [Thread Next]